A Christian’s Response to World Issues

These are trying times.  Many days I find myself discouraged as I comb through the news of the day.  I constantly find myself gravitating toward the things that I disagree with that are happening in the country in which I live.  America seems to have strayed so far away from the foundation upon which it was created and almost made those founding principles that are based on the Bible, passé.

Biblical Principles

It breaks my heart as I see a nation, so blatantly, turn its back on the principles upon which it was founded.  However, I also find myself believing in Scripture more today than I ever have before.  If, as a follower of Christ, I truly proclaim that the Bible is my ultimate governing foundation and that proclamation is followed up by how I live, then that means that I have to live in accordance with those Holy Scriptures.  I have to trust God!  I need to trust God!  I need my faith not to fail!

So, with that, I look to Scripture to find that what I am facing today was also evident throughout the times of Christ and the early Church.  There is truly nothing new under the sun.  If I say I believe the Bible and all that is in it, then I have to trust God when He says in Romans 3,

1 Everyone must submit to governing authorities. For all authority comes from God, and those in positions of authority have been placed there by God.   2 So anyone who rebels against authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and they will be punished.   3 For the authorities do not strike fear in people who are doing right, but in those who are doing wrong. Would you like to live without fear of the authorities? Do what is right, and they will honor you.  4 The authorities are God’s servants, sent for your good. But if you are doing wrong, of course you should be afraid, for they have the power to punish you. They are God’s servants, sent for the very purpose of punishing those who do what is wrong.   5 So you must submit to them, not only to avoid punishment, but also to keep a clear conscience.

6 Pay your taxes, too, for these same reasons. For government workers need to be paid. They are serving God in what they do.  7 Give to everyone what you owe them: Pay your taxes and government fees to those who collect them, and give respect and honor to those who are in authority.
Paul makes it pretty clear…don’t you think?  My responsibility as a Christian is to obey those who have been put in authority over me.
Themis in the Legal Stacks 3138
Christ did, even unto death.  Now, don’t get me wrong, that doesn’t mean that He liked it.  In fact, he went to the Garden of Gethsemane to pray about the governing authorities who were about to kill him.  He didn’t like it.  In fact, He actually looked for a way out.  As human beings, we are only revealed portions of God’s will.  We couldn’t handle it all if were dumped on us all at once.  We may not always see the reasoning that those who are in authority are in authority, but make no mistake about it.  God has put them there…for His reasons!  Our response should be simple as it is found in Matthew 22,
19 Here, show me the coin used for the tax.” When they handed him a Roman coin, 20 he asked, “Whose picture and title are stamped on it?”

21 “Caesar’s,” they replied.
“Well, then,” he said, “give to Caesar what belongs to Caesar, and give to God what belongs to God.”
22 His reply amazed them, and they went away.
praise
Give to God, what is God’s…that is YOU!  What I am finding is that the more I give myself to God, the less I worry about the things that go on in the world around me.  I am not neglecting those things in the world around me, rather I am beginning to see things through the eyes of faith in Christ rather than in the raised hackles of anger that can so easily rise.  There is a difference in righteous indignation and anger.  Today, I choose to let faith, hope and love guide me and filter those things that I see happening in this world.  I choose to see with the eyes of faith and ask God, “How can you use me for Your glory through things that are contrary to Your Word?”  I close my prayers now by saying, “Here I am Lord, send me!”
  • What filters are you ‘looking’ through while living your life?
  • How can you give yourself to God and live under the authorities that God has put in your life, even if you disagree with how they govern?

Leave a comment